Raw Food Diet

The Raw Food Diet, or Raw Foodism, involves consuming foods and drinks which are not processed, are completely plant-based, and ideally organic.

Raw foodists generally say that at least three-quarters of your food intake should consist of uncooked food. A significant number of raw foodists are also vegans – they do not eat or drink anything which is animal based.

There are four main types of raw foodists: raw vegetarians, raw vegans, raw omnivores, and raw carnivores.

  1. Cohen Diet

The Cohen diet is an individually adapted weight loss program that is based on gender, age and blood test results. Especially the blood test results are what separate this diet from other diets, as they show if weight-affecting hormones are unbalanced.

It is not an extreme diet, but instead based on eating from a balanced menu that is individually adapted. It was developed by Dr R Cohen after three years of research in the field of obesity and nutrition.

The length of the program depends on how many kilograms of fat you want to lose, and how fast you actually lose them. Extremely obese persons must follow the program longer than mildly obese persons.

Once you are close to reaching your goal weight, a special refeeding program will help you transition to eating more normal foods. When you are done following the Cohen diet, you will most likely never have to do it again since your hormones will be in balance.

  1. Dukan Diet

The Dukan Diet is the creation of French doctor Pierre Dukan and the result of a long career of working with and helping overweight people reach their target weight and, more importantly, keep the lost pounds once and for all.

The main reason why I decided to follow this diet and what makes it so popular worldwide is its simple guidelines. In a nutshell, the diet focuses on the temporary elimination of carbohydrates which are replaced by delicious meals with a high protein content, a daily dose of oat bran and a compulsory daily walk. No calorie counting, no diet pills or weird foods and certainly no need to go hungry.

The Dukan Diet plan is structured in 4 easy-to-follow phases – take a look at the links below for further information about each stage including allowed foods and example menus:

Dukan Diet’s 4 Phases:

  1. The Attack Phase- One to 10 days. Eat all the lean protein you can handle, plus 1.5 tablespoons of oat bran and at least 6 cups of water daily.
  2. The Cruise Phase – Which can last several months. Add unlimited amounts of non-starchy veggies every other day, plus an extra half-tablespoon of oat bran.
  3. The Consolidation Phase- Five days for every pound you’ve lost. East veggies every day, plus one piece of fruit, 2 slices of whole-grain bread, and 1 serving of hard cheese. During this phase, you can also have 1 or 2 servings of starchy foods and 1 or 2 “celebration” meals where you can eat whatever you want.
  4. The Stabilization Phase- Is all about maintenance. You can eat whatever you like, except for one day a week when you follow the all-protein rules from the diet’s “Attack” phase. In this phase, you also eat 3 tablespoons of oat bran a day and walk 20 minutes every day.
  5. Mediterranean Diet

The Mediterranean Diet is Southern European, and more specifically focuses on the nutritional habits of the people of Crete, Greece, and southern Italy. Nowadays, Spain, southern France, and Portugal are also included; even though Portugal does not touch the Mediterranean Sea.

The emphasis is on lots of plant foods, fresh fruits as dessert, beans, nuts, cereals, seeds, olive oil as the main source of dietary fats, cheese and yogurts are the main dairy foods, moderate amounts of fish and poultry, up to about four eggs per week, small amounts of red meat, and low/moderate amounts of wine.

There’s this dieter’s mantra which goes; “Losing weight is only half the battle-maintaining the loss is the other half.” Successful dieting is a lifelong commitment. It takes self-control, self-discipline and a moderate lifestyle choices in order to reach that ideal gain.